Southern Stone County Fire Protection District
The Fire District is comprised of approximately 280 square miles of the southern part of Stone County, Missouri. Southern Stone has responsibility over the largest part of Table Rock Lake with an estimated population of the Fire District as 31,000 (2005 U.S. Census), which is an approximate increase of 62% since 1990. Stone County is described as the second fastest growing county in Missouri and one of the top 100 fastest growing counties in the United States.
It’s that time of year to practice Boating Safety.
Missouri law designates these dangerous operating practices as illegal.
Reckless operation of a vessel or the reckless manipulation of water skis, a wakeboard, or similar device is the failure to exercise the care necessary to prevent the endangerment of life, limb, or property of any person.
It is illegal to load a vessel beyond the recommended capacity shown on the capacity plate installed by the vessel manufacturer.
Riding on the Bow, Deck, or Gunwale
Allowing passengers to ride on the bow, gunwale, transom, seat backs, seats on raised decks, or any other place where there may be a chance of falling overboard is prohibited unless the vessel has adequate guards or a railing. Guards or railings must be at least 6 inches high (not to exceed 18 inches in height) to be considered adequate.
Improper Speed or Distance
A proper speed or distance must be maintained while operating a motorboat or PWC or while towing a person on water skis or any similar device. Specifically, it is illegal to:
Operate a motorboat or PWC at speeds that may cause danger, injury, damage, or unnecessary inconvenience. Be aware of and obey all regulatory markers, including those marked as “idle speed” or “no wake.”
Operate a vessel at a speed in excess of “slow, no wake speed” within 100 feet of any emergency vessel that has red or blue emergency lights displayed.
“Idle Speed” or “Slow, No Wake Speed”
When you see these buoys or signs, they indicate a boating restricted area established to protect the safety of the public and property. In these areas, a vessel may not proceed at a speed greater than necessary to maintain steering.
Exceeding Night Speed Limit
It is illegal to operate a motorboat or PWC in excess of 30 miles per hour at any time from a half-hour after sunset until one hour before sunrise when on waters of the state.
Violating Skier-Down Flag Requirement
Violating the skier-down flag requirement is the failure to display the skier-down flag properly or the failure to keep a proper distance from a displayed skier-down flag.
Remember to be polite, safe, and friendly on the water. Let’s have a fun, enjoyable, and safe summer.